Artists-In-Training Students Conclude 30th Year In Virtual Spring Recital

The 2019-2020 Artists-in-Training class closed their academic year with a spring recital and award ceremony adjudicated by acclaimed soprano, Harolyn Blackwell. Prior to Saturday’s recital, each student performed two selections for the international opera star who used these presentations to award nearly $13,000.00 in scholarship funds. On Saturday, June 20th, 23 students participated in a virtual recital on Facebook Live and Youtube Live.  In celebration of this program’s 30th anniversary, two new awards have been added.  The Robert Nordman Award is named for the longtime Supervisor of Music for the St. Louis Public Schools, founding partner of the AIT program, and lifetime champion for music education. The Jermaine Smith First Prize is named in honor of an alumnus of the inaugural Artists-in-Training class (1990–91) and the first graduate to achieve a professional international opera career, and is supported in part through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Jermaine Smith. 

After much deliberation, Ms. Blackwell awarded Ms. Delaney Holliday of Belleville West High School the top award –  the Bayer Fund Award of $4,000. Margaret Mischeaux of Normandy High School was awarded the Marielle Huber Award ($1,750).  Lily Kinnison of Cor Jesu Academy and Eric Curry of Parkway North High School were awarded the inaugural Robert Nordman Award ($1250) and Jermaine Smith First Prize Award ($1,500) respectively. Olivia Rhodes of Ladue High School received the Maritz Award ($1,250), Michael Lee of Westminster Christian Academy received the Maritz Second Prize Award ($1000), Lorien Miills of Collinsville High School received Maritz Third Prize ($750), and Lauren Cerbin of Althoff Catholic High School received the Maritz Fourth Prize ($500). Kristen Jones of Pattonville High School and Zoe Meier of Francis Howell North High School tied for the MaryAnn McCormick Encouragement Award of $250 which was established by 2018 Adjudicator MaryAnn McCormick to recognize an underclassman who has demonstrated marked progress in their vocal development. 13 students received Honorable Mention Awards ($100) to recognize their commitment to the Artists-in-Training program.

Experience the 2020 Spring Recital below!